iiah’s launches brand-new cd ‘Terra’

    A post-rock Band from Adelaide, Australia, formed in 2013. The line-up of the consistently lowercase iiah consists of Tim Day (lead vocals, keys, guitar), Ben Twartz (guitar, vocals), Nick Rivett (guitar) , Aaron Fuller (bass) as well as Matthew Stedman (drums, vocals). Their style of motion picture post rock incorporates atmospheric ambient moods with smart guitar work as well as complaining vocals that would certainly not even look out of place with a post-punk or darkwave band.

    After their self-titled EP in 2015, iiah released the critically acclaimed debut album “Distances” in 2017 and currently there is the long-awaited follow-up “Terra” (8 tracks, 60 mins). With their impressive, atmospheric and slow-moving extending post rock, Iiah goes a little bit towards their compatriots from We Lost The Sea, with whom they have actually currently gotten on stage. Other reference factors are bands like Explosions In The Sky or likewise Sigur Ros. From the lovely ambient intro “From Nothing” we are entirely drawn right into the lovely, dark post-rock of this five-piece. Although vocals turn up in a number of tracks, it is still mainly instrumental songs (which is also a little bit strange to the genre), melancholy moody guitar songs as well as the shoegaze style is commonly nearby. The initial vocal track, the lingering “Aphelion” – the 3rd track – combines complaining male as well as female vocals with multi-layered guitar work and initial gauged, yet progressively faster percussion. Also in “Sleep” and “Displacement” there are equivalent vocals and likewise in the lengthy (13 min long) track “Lambda” they turn up occasionally. “Terra” from the enigmatically called iiah is one more fantastic enhancement to better post rock.

    Publish On

    Want to write about music? Join in!
    We are looking for authors, reviewers and music lovers who want to publish on
    Give us a message if you are..